DOGS: The Musical

An answer to CATS.

I have the idea forming in my mind. Even musical compositions are beginning to write themselves. I’m not a classically trained musician, and I don’t read or write sheet music yet. But the specific notes and specific instruments that play the notes are all in my mind. I don’t know how on earth I know this stuff. I just play a few stringed instruments in my spare time, but I hear all sorts of instruments in the compositions.

DOGS is the story of, in some ways, the pure breeds vs. the mixed breeds. It will center around a pure bred golden retriever that gets lost and sent to a no-kill shelter, where he (or she?) befriends an unlikely mutt of a friend in the shelter. They become best friends as they realize their similarities and differences.

The greater issues I want to press will be the obvious overcrowding and lack of funding for these shelters.

I want to talk about Pit Bulls, and have a Pit Bull character who has been bred to fight but is really a total softy. He still will lead one of the musical’s best songs–a hip-hop/rap song that will include modern hip-hop and street dance.

I want to show some of the funny characteristics of pure bred dogs–maybe an entitled and overeducated Poodle, maybe a needy Weimereiner. Since this is a musical for both kids and adults, it has to be kid-friendly throughout, and I think it’s important that the characters relate to the dogs of the audience members–meaning, if you don’t see your dog’s breed up on stage, at least we might show you a character with some of his or her habits. Tail chasing, snorting, getting excited and running around only to suddenly freeze–the material is endless!

Most of all, I want to praise the idea that no-kill shelters exist, and the value of adoption. I want to show that these places are funded mostly by donations by loving people. I want to show the love of those who work at these shelters, and spent countless hours caring for the animals.

Of course I can’t tell you the ending–that just wouldn’t be cool. To borrow some lyrics from the title track, “I woof if I could, but I can’t.”

Katie Rawls Baxter

Author: roseunderground

I believe in everyone. I don't know anything. It's not about what it's gonna cost. It's about what it's worth. It ain't where you stand. It's how you roll. It ain't about having something to show off. It's about having nothing to hide. It's not how you look. It's how you see. Remember my love where the sunlight meets the sea and we are just waves passing-- me over you, you over me.

Leave a comment