For the Love of Improv

I showed up to the audition exhausted. It had been a challenging week at my day job, and a part of me wanted to stay home and relax rather than drive out to the south end of town. But I did it anyway, because I told Karla (a girl I met at Keli’s workshop) that I’d be there.

There were people waiting outside the studio when I arrived. Everybody was nice. Again, it seemed like everybody knew each other already. I got my hands on the paperwork and began to complete it. Then I saw the practice time for the group for regular members: Wednesday nights. Uh oh.

I already have a commitment on Wednesday nights. If I was selected to perform with this group, I’d have to cut the commitment short by thirty minutes just to get to group practice on time.

Oh well, I thought. I’ll just try out and have fun, knowing I won’t be able to participate even if I do get selected.

Maybe it was the casual attitude with which I approached the audition that allowed me to open up; maybe it was the fun and enthusiastic nature of EB, the audition coordinator. Maybe it was the talent of the individuals with whom I was auditioning–I’m not sure. But I excelled at the audition. I was on.

I would like to save notes on the process of this audition for another entry, because what I want to talk about here is the mistake I made despite doing well at the event. I had marked on my paperwork that I wouldn’t be able to participate in the group if offered a spot. But I had so much fun during the audition that I seriously considered backing out on part of my other commitment.

Then, when I was offered a chance to practice and perform with the group (via email from EB), at first I agreed. Then I went back on my decision again–knowing that I had to do the right thing and keep my previous plan.

So, I wasted everyone’s time because I wasn’t clear with my needs.

I apologized to EB for going back and forth on things, but I never heard back from her. And I don’t blame her.

I just wanted this to be a lesson to everyone to make sure you’re solid as far as your availability. Don’t waver. Be clear. If you really love acting, you’ll find a way to be an actor. Look for another opportunity if practice time doesn’t meet your scheduling needs. Be honest.

I told EB I was bummed not to be able to participate. Then I had to let it go, despite wanting to apologize a thousand more times for being so wishy-washy. I’ve got my eyes set on two additional workshops coming up this weekend. They will take up almost my entire day on Sunday. I’m looking forward to the workshops because they will address both object work (a weak point of mine) and working past comedic impulses to produce drama.

Moving on!

 

 

 

Author: roseunderground

I believe in everyone. I don't know anything. It's not about what it's gonna cost. It's about what it's worth. It ain't where you stand. It's how you roll. It ain't about having something to show off. It's about having nothing to hide. It's not how you look. It's how you see. Remember my love where the sunlight meets the sea and we are just waves passing-- me over you, you over me.

Leave a comment